What I’m reading Wednesday

5 Sep

I love to read. It’s one of my absolute favorite things to do. I try to read a book a week. With that pace I will post each Wednesday about the book I recently finished.

This weekend I finished the non-fiction book “The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks” by Rebecca Skloot. This book was loaned to me by my sister-in-law who had just finished reading it for her book club.

At first I was skeptical because it’s a book about science. The story is about Henrietta Lacks and the immortal cell line HeLa, which came from her cervical cancer cells in 1951. I prefer to read historical fiction and it’s been a while since I’ve read a non-fiction book. And I know I haven’t read a biology-based book since I was in a biology lab.

After the introduction I was instantly hooked! This is Skloot’s first book and as a journalist I admired her ability to connect with the sources and gain their trust. For good reason the family was very hesitant to share their story, but Skloot’s patience and perseverance paid off and the Lacks’ story was brought to light. Skloot went to great lengths to contact people important to the story and was put in situations I know I would not be comfortable with.

Skloot covered all areas of the story, spanning five decades, and told it in a beautiful and educational way.

What’s your favorite non-fiction book? What are you currently reading?

Leave a Reply

