What I’m Reading Wednesday

12 Sep

After such a positive response to my “What I’m Reading Wednesday” post last week, I am even more excited about this weekly post!

I have the type of personality that when I learn of or hear of something that interests me, I have to research everything about it. For example, after I watched “The Kennedys” mini-series I checked out every book from the library that I could find about the entire Kennedy family.

I have always been fascinated with historical fiction set during WWII. I love reading stories about couples falling in love during the war and how women found roles during that time period. I actually read two books this week that are about that time period, but I will write about one today, “A Distant Melody” by Sarah Sundin.

I read a lot of fiction, but I haven’t read a lot of Christian fiction. I saw in a catalog that Sundin has a new book coming out this month, but I had never read anything of hers. I decided to read one of her older books in “A Distant Melody” which is book one of her Wings of Glory series.

The book is 430 pages but I read it in three days. I could NOT put it down! The book follows a young pilot headed off to war and a young woman he briefly meets and leaves behind. The two correspond by letters for a year and their friendship develops into something deeper. There are MANY conflicts to the point where it makes you question if the guy gets the girl in the end, but I don’t want to spoil the ending for you…

FYI “A Distant Melody” is available on Amazon for one penny. You’re welcome.

I already checked out the second book of the series. Stay tuned…

Leave a Reply

