What I’m Reading Wednesday

26 Sep

The WWII-era historical readings continue with Sarah Sundin’s “A Memory Between Us,” book two of the Wings of Glory series.

This story follows a young Army nurse and a dashing B-17 bomber pilot stationed in England. I absolutely love the English setting complete with fish and chips!

Sundin weaves the biblical story of Ruth and Boaz in this book. Her characters are Ruth, a woman who feels unforgiven for her sins and who leaves home to become a nurse to support her younger siblings. And then Jack, a wounded pilot who struggles with the decision to follow God’s calling as a military leader or follow his dad’s calling as a pastor.

Over a span of a year Jack slowly gains the trust of Ruth and of course a romance develops, but evil weaves its way into the story and the love birds are torn apart. They turn to God to shed light on the truth and I won’t spoil the ending for you.

Sundin amazes me with the amount of research she does for her novels, especially when it comes to WWII-era planes. Lucky for me I work on an Army-Air Force joint base and have access to historical planes. Unfortunately I couldn’t find a B-17 Flying Fortress, but I took a stroll and admired these following beauties:

Located on McChord Field.

I am so happy this series is three books and I have one more left to read! I took a little break from the 1940s reading, but will pick back up shortly. This month Sundin also released a book in a new series, Wings of the Nightingale, which I placed a hold on at the library.

What are you reading this week?

One Response to “What I’m Reading Wednesday”

  1. sarahsundin September 29, 2012 at 3:19 pm #

    Somer – thank you for the wonderful review! And I love the pictures. The plane in the middle looks like a C-47 cargo plane, the “star” of my new series 🙂 I’m so glad you enjoyed Ruth & Jack’s story!

Leave a Reply

