Inspiring Justice: In Blaire’s Words

2 Oct

Inspiring Justice is a Tuesday blog series that features guest blog posts from people who are headed to The Justice Conference 2013 in Philly. The goal is to continue to inspire, educate and connect in a community that shares a concern for the vulnerable and oppressed. Please contact me at somerbreeze8@hotmail.com if you would like to participate in “Inspiring Justice” by submitting a guest blog post.

Me and Blaire.

The first guest post in this series comes from my good friend, Blaire. She is the one who first introduced me to The Justice Conference last year and is the reason I attended in 2012 and am going in 2013. We are making the cross-country flight together in February. She is scared of heights and I have severe motion sickness so please pray for us 🙂

Inspiring Justice in Blaire’s words

Q: How did you first hear about The Justice Conference?

A: I first read about The Justice Conference on the IJM website. I had first heard about IJM when I attended a benefit dinner in Seattle in 2007 when I was in graduate school. Another student in my cohort was hosting a table at the conference, and invited myself, some faculty, and other students to attend. Since then I have been following what IJM is doing around the world, and was excited to see the they were part of The Justice Conference that was taking place in Portland.

Q: What was your experience like at last year’s conference?

A: I really feel that the conference last year impacted me in 2 ways. 1) it was an opportunity for me to hear about what other were doing globally and locally to aid in the justice movement and some practical ways that I could support what they were doing 2) I think at the time I was struggling with feeling like I was in a rut in my life, and had become complacent in some areas of my life. I feel like the conference really affirmed the passion that I have for Godly justice and gave me the strength to continue to search for ways to become involved in the fight for justice.

Q: Why is The Justice Conference important to you?

A: The conference is important to me because I love hearing stories from other believers that understand how important justice is to God’s own heart, and what they are doing to aid in the justice movement. I’ve been bombarded (in a good way) over and over again of verses in the Bible talking about God’s heart for those who are poor and oppressed, and as a Christ follower, I don’t see how I can’t take these verses to heart. As we are called to be Jesus’ hands and feet, I must make it my call to fight for justice and to encourage others to do the same. As Isaiah 1:17 says

“Learn to do good; seek justice, correct oppression; bring justice to the fatherless, plead the widow’s cause.”

Q: What do you most look forward to at the 2013 conference?

A: I am excited to hear the stories of people who are working towards justice causes, and just connecting with others who have a similar passion. Working 40 hours a week, having a family, serving at church, etc., can become exhausting at times, and for me I’m looking forward to the energy that’s felt when so many people gather together with a similar purpose and passion.

Q: What do you do or want to do to aid in the justice movement?

A: I think at times I am still trying to find my place in the movement- after getting my degree in counseling psychology, I have spent the majority of my time working with nonprofits that serve the poor in my community (from foster children, to homeless youth and adults).

I definitely have a passion for working with this population, and helping them identify their strengths, skills, and passions in order to utilize them to become economically self-sufficient. I want to find ways to utilize my skills within the educational system, especially assisting those who face barriers in attending higher education.

Book List

Blaire and I are bookworm soul mates. She recently went crazy on Amazon and ordered books from last year’s conference speakers. Here’s some of what she will be reading:

One Response to “Inspiring Justice: In Blaire’s Words”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Inspiring Justice: In Bethany’s Words « A Writer's Purpose - October 16, 2012

    […] Inspiring Justice: In Blaire’s Words […]

Leave a Reply

