What I’m Reading Wednesday

3 Oct

I took a break from reading historical fiction and turned to Donald Miller. He’s most well-known for his memoir “Blue Like Jazz.” I can’t remember what inclined me to look up “A Million Miles in a Thousand Years” at the library, but I am so glad I did so.

I love when something I read is relevant to something that is happening in my life. While I was reading “A Million Miles in a Thousand Years” I found out I was leading a faith and film small group this fall. While looking through lists of movies I decided to add “Blue Like Jazz” to the curriculum. “A Million Miles” is a book Miller wrote while he was editing his famous memoir into a movie. It adds insightful details about editing a life into a movie script that I feel will add to the group’s future discussion.

And thanks to The Justice Conference’s “Blue Like Jazz” DVD contest on Twitter, I now own the movie!

Thank you The Justice Conference!

“A Million Miles” makes the reader think about their own personal story they’re living and question whether it’s interesting and meaningful. Miller writes about riding a bicycle across America and hiking to Machu Picchu in Peru.

“We have to force ourselves to create these scenes. We have to get up off the couch and turn the television off, we have to blow up the inner-tubes and head to the river.”

Sometimes it’s the journey through the scene leading up to the climax is what makes the story great. Facing resistance and battling through struggles and challenges makes the end result so much more glorious. Miller discovers the basic structure of story is when a character who wants something overcomes conflict to get it.

I first read “Blue Like Jazz” in 2007. I was living in a duplex across the river from Portland, where many of the book’s scenes take place. My neighbors loaned me the book and I read it over the weekend as I loved Miller’s honesty and humor throughout his story.

What makes your story interesting? What would you edit to make it more interesting?

One Response to “What I’m Reading Wednesday”

  1. thesocialeater October 3, 2012 at 4:06 pm #

    Hey, there:-). I think A Million Miles in a Thousand Years was part of what helped change my perspective and realize how much I value story. I think it really helped me to get to where I am right now with advocating for fair trade practices. Now I’m thinking I should probably read it again…or at least listen to it on tape!

Leave a Reply

