What I’m Reading Wednesday

10 Oct

There are certain genres and historical topics that I will read anything and everything about, including: the 1920s, WWII, and turn of the twentieth century London. When I was first introduced to Downton Abbey I was instantly hooked and spent every minute of my free time watching the first two seasons. I am beyond excited for the third season!!

The American Heiress by Daisy Goodwin takes place around 1914 and centers around a young, wealthy American, Cora Cash (similar to Cora Crawley’s character in Downton!). Cash’s ambitious mother is on the hunt for a proper suitor with a proper title for her daughter. They travel abroad to England to find Cora a duke (also similar storyline to Downton!). Do you see why I chose this book?

It’s always so interesting to read about an era where manners, image and reputation meant EVERYTHING. And how things were communicated by what you said and did, but also by what you didn’t say or do. Huh?

The American Heiress also follows the relationship between Cora and her lady’s maid. The relationship between the household and the household staff is also one of intrigue for me (again, cue Downton!).

I am always so fascinated about a time when things were so different and try to imagine where I would be if I lived during that era. Would I still be able to write? Or would I be confined to my house in a corset reading books all day waiting until it was time to change dress for dinner?

On the subject of Downton, I feel I relate most with Lady Sybil, who goes against tradition and expectations during her era. She wears pants (gasp!), she serves in the first World War as a nurse and she defies her family and risks losing everything to marry for love (sigh).

Lady Sybil, Lady Mary and Lady Edith.

And so the countdown continues to Jan. 6 for the season three debut of Downton in the U.S.! Any suggestions for further reading on this topic?

What Downton Abbey character do you relate to? What era do you most enjoy reading about?

Leave a Reply

