Inspiring Justice: In Bethany’s Words

16 Oct

Inspiring Justice is a Tuesday blog series that features guest blog posts from people who are headed to The Justice Conference 2013 in Philly. The goal is to continue to inspire, educate and connect in a community that shares a concern for the vulnerable and oppressed. Please contact me at somerbreeze8@hotmail.com if you would like to participate in “Inspiring Justice.”

Meet Bethany. She is wearing the same dress every day for a year to raise awareness and money in the fight against human trafficking.

Day 235.

 

Ever since I first learned about human trafficking, I’ve been passionate about ending it. For years I had ideas of things that I could do to help bring an end to it, but I never did anything with them. Then, a year and a half ago, Alex and Brett Harris, authors of Do Hard Things, shared on their blog about their friend Elaini who was wearing the same dress for 100 days to raise money for orphans. It was fun to see her creativity and all the different ways that she wore her dress.

Then, that fall, I started toying with the idea of doing something similar. As I talked and prayed about it, I started getting more and more excited. I set my start date for February 1st and began getting ready. However, my dress was done and I was ready before I had expected, so I moved my start date to Jan. 11, 2012. Since then I’ve worn the dress for 272 days (as of Oct. 8) and raised $5,171.09. It’s been amazing to see what God has done.

Day 255.

Through this project, I’ve also learned a lot more about human trafficking and begun seeking opportunities to expand my knowledge and skill set. One way that I was planning to do this was by attending the Justice Conference. However, my plans changed last week and I will no longer be able to attend. I’m still looking forward to hearing everyone’s stories, though. I hope all of you who are going have a great time.

Follow Bethany’s project on her blog: one dress. one year. for freedom.

Inspired? I sure am! Thank you so much for sharing, Bethany!

Previous Inspiring Justice posts:

Inspiring Justice: In Andre’s Words

Inspiring Justice: In Blaire’s Words

Why Inspiring Justice?

One Response to “Inspiring Justice: In Bethany’s Words”

  1. thesocialeater October 17, 2012 at 2:09 pm #

    What a creative and fun way to raise awareness for human trafficking. I’m sorry I won’t get to meet you at the conference, but I just added your blog to my Reader so I can follow along with your project. I’m looking forward to reading more:-).

Leave a Reply

