What I’m Reading Wednesday

17 Oct

I first stumbled upon the works of Emily Giffin a few years ago when I found “Something Borrowed” at a used book store. After that first encounter I have read every book she has written, including her latest, “Where We Belong” (finally!).

“Where We Belong” is Giffin’s sixth book and was released on July 24. I placed a hold on it at the library before it was even released and it already had 42 holds on it! Luckily I had other material to tie me over until I received the email saying my requested item was ready for pickup (2 1/2 months later)!

This novel is told from the perspective of two characters: 1, Marian, a successful TV producer who lives a posh lifestyle and 2, Kirby, Marian’s 18-year-old biological daughter that Marian gave up for adoption as a baby.

As is the case with all of Giffin’s book, I finished this one in two days. The story begins when the two characters meet 18 years after the adoption day and follows their complex journey of learning about each other and starting a friendship. Kirby’s adoptive family is also included, and one of the book’s themes is the importance of family, whether biological or not. Coming from a crazy blended family, I can relate!

What are you reading this week?

4 Responses to “What I’m Reading Wednesday”

  1. Paige S. October 17, 2012 at 7:28 pm #

    I love the can’t-but-down books that get scoured in two days! I’ve always wondered about Giffin…I’ll have to give it a shot.

  2. Blaire Lessor October 22, 2012 at 7:44 pm #

    I’m glad you finally read this book! I didn’t know you had finally gotten it from the library…that took forever! 🙂 I read it in 1 day. That’s the bad thing about being a book nerd, I get through books too fast sometimes.

    • somerbhanson October 22, 2012 at 7:57 pm #

      Yet another reason why we’re bookworm soul mates 🙂

Leave a Reply

