Inspiring Justice: In Sarah’s Words

23 Oct

Inspiring Justice is a Tuesday blog series that features guest blog posts from people who are headed to The Justice Conference 2013 in Philly. The goal is to continue to inspire, educate and connect in a community that shares a concern for the vulnerable and oppressed. Please contact me at somerbreeze8@hotmail.com if you would like to participate in “Inspiring Justice.”

Meet Sarah. She is traveling to The Justice Conference from the Reading, Penn., area.

Q: How did you first hear about The Justice Conference?

A: You know, I can’t even remember how I started following them on Twitter, but that’s where it all started.

Q: Why is the conference important to you?

A: I’ve been formally advocating for fair treatment of farmers (locally and abroad) for about 6 months (and informally for much longer than that!). Fair trade (among other social justice issues) is not a particularly popular trend in my area (although there is some progress I’m excited about). I think attending will fuel my passion for speaking up for those who can’t speak for themselves.

Q: What are you most looking forward to at The Justice Conference 2013?

A: I’m really looking forward to spending concentrated time with people who care about similar issues and understand parts of my heart that can be hard to communicate. I’m also excited to be challenged, make connections, and learn from speakers and attendees.

Q: What do you do or want to do to aid in the justice movement?

A: I distributed free samples of fair trade chocolate (that I purchased myself- that’s how strongly I believe that fair trade matters), information, and conversation at an Earth Day event in my city and organized my own World Fair Trade Day event. I also blog a minimum of once a week (always on Mondays, and sometimes more than that) at thesocialeater.org.

Sarah talking to a woman about fair trade products at her city’s Earth Day event.

Q: Can you tell me more about your blog?

A: I firmly believe that fair treatment of those who produce the products we buy is so important, but I also know that there are a lot of issues that come with it.  I started my blog in April of last year, with the goal of simultaneously advocating for and hashing out issues in the world of fair trade.

Thank you, Sarah! See you in Philly!

Leave a Reply

