Music and stories

25 Oct

Jenny Simmons performs at Madigan Chapel. Photo: Scott Hansen

There are many, many reasons why I love social media, but the main reason is how it helps me in my profession as a journalist. I find so many story ideas/tips through Facebook and Twitter! Such was the case last week.

On my way into work a couple of weeks ago I heard on the radio that lead singer of Addison Road, Jenny Simmons, was performing at the Q Cafe in Seattle for a benefit concert. At that time I didn’t realize the band had broken up in August and Jenny was working on her debut solo album. I started to follow her on social media and found out she was stopping at JBLM for a special performance for the military community before her Seattle show.

I was happy I found another story idea via social media, but I was even happier that I was able to go to a performance of one of my favorite Christian artists and get paid to write about it! Seriously, sometimes my job is too good to be true!

Jenny performed a free show at the Madigan Chapel with a live TV feed to the Army hospital’s rooms. She played an acoustic set of Addison Road songs along with some songs from her upcoming solo album. In between each song she shared personal stories of being raised in the military (her dad is an Army chaplain) and helping her sister through her husband’s deployment.

She sang songs and shared scripture of hope. “We want you to know we care and we’re grateful,” Jenny said.

After her performance I interviewed her and couldn’t even be star struck because she was so relatable! After our interview she was asking questions about me!

You can read about my story in the NWG here.

One Response to “Music and stories”

  1. Martin J Potter November 1, 2012 at 9:06 pm #

    I can not thank you adequately for the posts on your web site. I know you’d put a lot of time and effort into them and hope you know how much I appreciate it. I hope I’ll do exactly the same for someone else at some point.

Leave a Reply

