What I’m Reading Wednesday

14 Nov

When the Pacific Northwest was hit with an ice storm last year we were one of the lucky ones who didn’t lose power (except for a couple of hours the first day). We were snowed in for a few days and passed the time with movies, a puzzle and lucky for me, reading!

I was snowed in with Sarah Jio’s first novel, “The Violets of March” and read it in a day. When I was finally able to escape the house and make it to the library I checked out her second novel “The Bungalow” and again, read it in a day. Both of the novels take place during one of my favorite eras (1930s-1940s). The author, who lives in Seattle, also writes her hometown into her novels.

I was so excited when Sarah’s third novel “Blackberry Winter” was released in September. Staying true to form, the haunting novel flips back and forth to 1933 and present day in Seattle. Another element that Sarah always includes in each novel is a mystery. I couldn’t put the book down because I couldn’t wait to figure out what happens!

The story of Blackberry Winter is told through two characters, Vera in 1933 and Claire in present day. Claire is a journalist for a Seattle newspaper and uncovers a mystery involving Vera and her abducted 3-year-old son. The author herself is also a journalist and I enjoyed reading about a features writer on the hunt, following leads and trying to solve the story. The novel paints a glamorous lifestyle of a journalist who takes frequent and long lunches and escapes on ferries to visit with friends (sidenote, characters from The Violets of March made an appearance, too!).

I follow Sarah’s blog and am already looking forward to her fourth novel! She’s already working on her fifth, which takes place on a houseboat in Seattle. She rented a house boat for four months for research and to serve as her office. What a cool gig!

I highly recommend picking up any or all of Sarah’s novels. It’s the perfect book to have on hand if you do get snowed in this winter.

What book would you recommend to read if you were snowed in?

One Response to “What I’m Reading Wednesday”

  1. jessicanicolehall November 15, 2012 at 2:09 am #

    I really need to read her books soon!
    And since I ❤ you and your blog I nominated you for a Liebster Award! http://morethanamilitaryspouse.wordpress.com/2012/11/14/liebster-award/

Leave a Reply

