What I’m Reading Wednesday

21 Nov

One of the many reasons I love the Pierce County Library system is its “Lucky Day” section. They display new books and movies that you are unable to reserve or renew. Sometimes a book, such as “The Hunger Games” can have about 80 holds, but you never know when you walk in you could see it available on the Lucky Day shelf. It really makes you feel like it’s your lucky day!

Last week I stopped by the library and spotted Mitch Albom’s latest release The Time Keeper.” The book was released in September and has three holds on it, but lucky for me I was able to read it right then and there.

For those familiar with Albom’s style, he often writes inspiring. heartfelt stories. My favorite of his novels is “Tuesday’s With Morrie.”

In his latest novel, he uses his creative imagination to write about the inventor of the world’s first clock, and how God punishes him for trying to measure the gift of time.

“But man invents nothing God did not create first.” — The Time Keeper

The tale follows the time keeper through his inventions to banishment to being sent back to Earth to teach two people the true meaning of time. The story includes a dying man who wants more time and a teenage girl who wants time to speed up.

While it’s a work of fiction, The Time Keeper still made me think about how often we keep track of time. Thinking of my own life I live by a schedule monthly, weekly, daily. I live by pay checks, bill due dates and deadlines. I know I worry about not having enough time, and I know it’s senseless to worry about it to begin with.

On my drive to work this morning Tim McGraw’s song, “Live Like You Were Dying” came on the radio.

“And he said, ‘Someday I hope you get the chance to live like you were dying. Like tomorrow was a gift and you’ve got eternity to think about what you’d do with it? What could you do with it? What did I do with it? What would I do with it?'”

I appreciate Albom’s novel in that for me it served as a reminder to not watch the clock, but to live in the moment. And to be thankful for every second I get to be in that moment.

Leave a Reply

