What I’m Reading Wednesday

28 Nov

I definitely judge books by the cover. Since I tend to favor historical fiction set during the 1920s-1950s, I look for art from that time frame when searching through books.

When I walked into the library a couple of weeks ago I noticed “Tigers in Red Weather” right away because it was on display. The cover resembles a 1950s-era photo that could have easily been used in Vogue.

I picked the book up and read about the author Liza Klaussmann and learned she is the great-great-great granddaughter of Herman Melville and was a journalist at the New York Times for more than a decade. This book is her debut and was released in July. I was sold!

The novel takes place post-WWII at an old family estate called Tiger House in Martha’s Vineyard. Klaussmann writes the novel from the perspective of its five main characters. It centers around two cousins, Nick and Helena and their marriages and children. It’s interesting to re-read scenes of the book from all the different perspectives especially because a murder-mystery is weaved into it.

The novel is definitely dark and at times creepy as you get to learn more and more about the characters and the truth of a murder comes to light. It’s difficult to like some of the characters as I felt like they were all about to snap at one point. There was seriously only one happy person.

After my Nancy Drew days I don’t read much from the mystery genre, aside from Jacqueline Winspear, author of the Maisie Dobbs series. But this was good and I look forward to whatever may be next from Klaussmann.

How do you pick out your books?

Leave a Reply

