Looking Back At My 2012

29 Dec

I am not a fan of the term, New Year’s resolutions. Rather, I use the term goals when looking ahead to a new year. When I was in college I set the goal to cut out sugar soda from my diet for a year. I met that goal and many years later I prefer the diet stuff to the sugary pop.

Before 2012 I made a list of goals I wanted to work toward and pinned it up so it was visible at all times. This blog post serves as a reflection of my past year and an outlook for my 2013.

Last year’s list was titled “Who I Want To Be in 2012.” Here is what I wrote:

1. Having just one well paying career.
2. A good friend.
3. Cooking more.
4. Pregnant.
5. On time/non procrastinator.
6. A better listener.
7. Reduce debt.
8. The best wife in the world.
9. Closer to God.

Let’s see how I did:

1. This time last year I had my current job as well as a media relations contract position. In February the funding for my contract was cut and I lost my part-time position I had had for two years. To supplement our income I started to freelance more and found success with it.

2. I am so grateful for being able to mend a broken friendship with someone who has been a life-long friend. Long distance and lack of contact had created a rift in our friendship but our relationship has thankfully been restored.

3. For the first few months of the year I tried a new recipe every week. We had some interesting dishes that we really liked as well as some dishes we couldn’t finish. The husband was always kind when telling me something tasted weird. Thanks to Pinterest and my Better Homes and Gardens magazine I discovered a lot of fun recipes.

4. Unfortunately there is no bun in the oven…yet.

5. I admit I am still working on not procrastinating so much! I get in trouble because of my books. When I start reading it’s hard for me to stop!

6. I received a couple comments about how good of a listener I am, so I feel this was a success!

7. I am so proud of how well we did financially this year. While we lost a third of our income when I lost my contract position we made smart money choices that has still allowed us to pay down our debt. My car will soon be paid off and we just closed on a home refinance this week.

8. Last June marked our second wedding anniversary. I feel our relationship is stronger every year we pass. My husband is my best friend and he makes me such a better person.

9. I am still not consistent in my daily bible readings and journaling, but this year was definitely a year of growth for me spiritually. I led two small groups, a Pinterest as well as a Faith and Film group this year. I was challenged as a leader but out of it my own personal relationship with God grew stronger.

Not too shabby for a year’s worth of life. As I start to think ahead to 2013 I have a few goals in mind:

1. Travel more. There is so much to see.
2. Write more. Yes I write for a living, but there are so many more stories to tell.
3. Stay away from the library. I have so many books in my own personal library I need to read!
4. Baby. It’s still on the list!
5. Love more. Spend more time with the people who are important to me.
6. Serve more.

What’s on your list? How was 2012 for you?

Leave a Reply

