Inspiring Justice: In Allie’s Words

29 Jan
14983_10200527933985126_940345274_n

Allie working with the Global Aid Network in Zimbabwe in 2009.

Inspiring Justice is a blog series that features people who are headed to The Justice Conference 2013 in Philly. The goal is to continue to inspire, educate and connect in a community that shares a concern for the vulnerable and oppressed. Please contact me at somerbreeze8@hotmail.com if you would like to participate.

Meet Allie. She is traveling to The Justice Conference from New York.

Q: How did you first hear about The Justice Conference?

A: I first heard about The Justice Conference through a close friend who wanted to attend, and knew that I would be interested as well.

Q: Why is the conference important to you?

A: I went to this conference with the intention of learning more about what I can do to make an impact on the injustices of this world. The Justice Conference is so important to me because I learned so much in the two days that I was there last year, about both social justice and how it correlates with what Jesus has called us to do. It is so crucial for everyone to know what is going on in this world, and that they can make a difference! It’s too easy for us to simply say “that is terrible” and continue to go on with our daily lives.

Q: What are you most looking forward to at the conference?

A: I am looking forward to learning more about modern day slavery and what I can do in my everyday life to not spend my money on products that support or use slavery in their production (i.e. coffee, clothes and chocolate to name just a few). I also look forward to the exhibition hall. It will be filled with organizations that are working hard to make an impact on this world, which provides attendees with opportunities to join what they are doing!

Q: What do you do or want to do to aid in the justice movement?

A: I am currently a full-time student at The University at Buffalo, but in my spare time I do what I can to impact my global and local community. Right now I am spending some of my afternoons in one of the more impoverished areas of Buffalo, doing homework help with kids, which also provides me with a great opportunity to invest in their lives. I also have plans in the works to return to Africa and spend three months in Uganda with the organization Childvoice International. I will be holding art therapy sessions for girls who have been victims of war violence and sexual abuse. I hope to one day work for a non-profit organization and use these passions that God has placed on my heart to impact this world in anyway that I can.

Thank you, Allie! See you in Philly!

2 Responses to “Inspiring Justice: In Allie’s Words”

  1. Debi Marshall January 29, 2013 at 12:31 am #

    I’m going to my first Justice Conference this year, and I too hope to find out how I can be more proactive and intentional in living a life that fights for justice, locally and globally. More than, as Ken Wytsma (who started the Justice ConferencE) wrote about today in the Huffington Post, by just clicking a “like” button. I’m super excited, ready to be inspired and called to action.

  2. Michelle Martini (@PowerfulHER) January 31, 2013 at 9:57 pm #

    I think it’s important to not discount the importance of the ‘like’ button as a starting point… Orgs have people coming to them on social media- they need to find ways to plug people in.

    I’m also looking forward to the Justice Conference!!!

Leave a Reply

