What I’m Reading Wednesday

9 Apr

12294541If there are two things I love it’s Paris and chocolate. So I was very excited when my step-mom picked up “Paris, My Sweet: A Year in the City of Light (And Dark Chocolate)” by Amy Thomas for me!

Thomas shares her love of all things sweet as she takes her readers on a tour of her own self discovery and desserts galore while living in New York and Paris. While in Paris she wrote ad copy for Louis Vuitton (jealous much?), but while she didn’t get a Louis Vuitton discount, she definitely enjoyed the perks of Paris.

It is my absolute dream to visit Paris and I so enjoyed all of Thomas’ descriptions and the history lessons she shared. I was also able to relate to her personal story as she watched all of her friends marry and start families while she was still cruising through the dating scene (I have the husband, but everyone is having babies!). She made a great discovery in that sometimes we want something just because we think we’re supposed to want it (brilliant!).

“Paris, My Sweet” is an absolute treat! Thomas shared with me some more background info behind her memoir and also answers a question you’re left asking at the end: does she ever find Mr. Right?!

Q and A with Amy Thomas:

Q: What is the first dessert/sweet you tried that changed your life?

A: Growing up I ate all kinds of sweets — Hostess cupcakes, Chips Ahoy, cakes and brownies from box mixes, plus my mom’s baking from (more or less) scratch — and I would say they shaped my life. But the first sweets that changed me were Teuscher champagne truffles. They are so potently delicious and made me realize the power and beauty that a mere two bites of chocolate can have.

Q: What is your go-to treat for a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day?

A: Homemade chocolate chip cookies. I love eating the dough and the chips as I go along, and then plucking one cookie from each tray as they come out of the oven. I don’t think there’s anything more uplifting than warm cookies from the oven.

Q: Besides New York and Paris have you toured other locations that boast sweet spots?

A: Everywhere in the world has worthy sweet spots! Some of my favorite places have been San Francisco (Tartine, Bi-Rite and Miette), Brussels (all the chocolatiers), London and Sydney (both cities have markets, cafes and bakeries with the most dazzling baked goods).

Q: Are there Parisian sweets you miss that you order and have sent to you in New York?

A: Despite missing all the sweets, I don’t have any of my friends send me stuff. I actually sort of like missing them and then indulging and relishing in them when I return to Paris — about twice a year. I always make sure I get my fill of pain aux raisins, almond croissants, Nutella crepes and chocolates galore.

Q: If you had one day in Paris where would you visit? What would you eat?

A: I would walk and, maybe not actually go inside anywhere, but visit countless landmarks. I would start in the east, near le Pont Sully-Morland and walk west, on the Ile Saint Louis, then past Notre Dame on the Ile de la Cite and through le marche  aux fleurs. I’d cross to the Left Bank and stroll through Saint Germain a bit before crossing over to the Right Bank by way of le Pont des Arts. I’d go through the Louvre’s carre, past IM Pei’s pyramids and into the Jardin des Tuileries. I would stop to take in the views of the Musee d’Orsay, the Seine and the Eiffel Tower in the distance. Then I’d walk through the magical Place de la Concorde, past the Grand and Petit Palais and finally across the magnificent Pont Alexandre III towards Les Invalides. Seeing as I’d be in the 7eme, I’d probably go to Chez l’mi Jean or Cafe Constant after all that walking.

Q: You write of the dating scene in Paris. Have you met Mr. Right since the book was published?

A: As a matter of fact, I have! I think I was finally ready to be in a committed relationship. About nine months after moving back to New York, I met someone and he’s for keeps.

Q: What is your next project?

A: I’m contemplating my next book, so it’s still unformed, but it will definitely be food — and city-centric.

amy-thomas

(Photo by Lindsey Tramuta)

One Response to “What I’m Reading Wednesday”

  1. Sweet Freak April 10, 2013 at 12:36 am #

    So thrilled to be featured with all these other great books and authors – merci, Somer!

Leave a Reply

