What I’m Reading Wednesday

7 May

9780743273565_custom-s6-c10

To celebrate the release of “The Great Gatsby” this weekend I’m dedicating this week’s post to F. Scott Fitzgerald, one of my absolute favorite authors.

As you probably know by now I have a borderline-obsession with the 1920s. Everything about the era: the movement, the music, the literature, the fashion. It all fascinates me. Fitzgerald is an icon of the era because he lived during and wrote about the jazz age.

Back during my bachelorette days I spent a lot of my money on books. Not just any old paperback, but first editions and collectible items, including an early edition of “This Side of Paradise,” my favorite novel written by Fitzgerald in 1920. In a close second is “The Great Gatsby.” No joke, every time I walked into a used book store I would head straight for the literature section looking for Fitzgerald. I have an entire bookshelf dedicated to him and his wife, Zelda and daughter, Scottie.

tumblr_inline_mfd6zzj8Sd1qfex7s

Let me tell you how beyond excited I am to see the new Gatsby film! And I think I successfully talked my husband into seeing it with me! I saw the 1974 film a few years ago and look forward to seeing the use of music (I hear the soundtrack is amazing), acting, costumes and cinematography in the 2013 version. This film is actually the fifth adaptation of the book because yes, it’s that good!

It is so amazing that nearly a century after Fitzgerald’s prime, his imagination and work still impacts audiences today. Did you know the movie “The Curious Case of Benjamin Button,” is based on a Fitzgerald short story? I also love that the Fitzgerald family story still lives on and authors are still writing about them. On my summer reading list is Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald (published March 2013).

z-3_4_r536_c534

Who has plans to see “The Great Gatsby” this weekend? What’s your favorite Fitzgerald novel/short story?

2 Responses to “What I’m Reading Wednesday”

  1. lionaroundwriting May 7, 2013 at 11:19 pm #

    I’ll join you in reading it! MY gf bought me it today – the film comes out in 9 days – read on!
    My first Fitzgerald book too.

  2. stainonthepage May 9, 2013 at 7:03 pm #

    I can’t wait for the movie either! Z has made it to my summer reading list as well, can’t wait to hear what you think of it.

Leave a Reply

