Book Shower

4 Sep
P1000758

Books!

At a book club meeting a friend of mine shared her pre-wedding festivities included a bridal book shower. I thought it was a genius idea and set out to plan a book shower for someone!

First I had to find a bride-to-be! It just so happened a friend of mine was getting ready to tie the knot and also happens to be a bookworm. Bingo!

Then came the research. A Pinterest search revealed everything I could possibly learn about baby book showers, but not much about bridal themes. Hopefully this post will make the rounds and inspire others to throw their adult friends book showers for occasions of every kind!

The party planning started with the invitations. I was able to order old school library check-out cards on Amazon. Do they still exist in libraries?

964071_10201240519873089_2097924229_o

The invite.

My friend Sarah (also a bookworm and a member of the bridal party) became my event co-planner and the sushi lunch meeting/planning sessions began!

Invites were sent and requested the attendees to bring a book they enjoyed to give to the bride.

We decided on an outdoor covered picnic area at a local park for the location. We covered the tables with table cloths and created centerpieces of stacked books on each table. Sarah added tealight candles for ambiance. The food table included sweet treats and coffee.

Sarah brought a small bookcase for gifts to be placed in.

We created two games for the guests: 1, multiple choice book trivia and 2, write a quote, lyric, advice on a bookmark and the bride picked her favorite. Prizes were of course books.

The bride received a variety of books, including from her favorite young adult genre. There were classics, popular fiction, humorous selections and then the gem I brought: a “Baby Sitter’s Club” book because we’re products of the ’80s). Some guests also brought bridal shower-type gifts as well.

P1000755

Centerpiece.

Not that the bride needed 20 new books, but it was still fun to celebrate a bride who loves to read!

What ideas do you have for a book shower? Any special themes?

3 Responses to “Book Shower”

  1. Alex Paige September 11, 2013 at 1:04 am #

    Love that idea!!! Now I really want to throw a book themed something or other πŸ™‚

    • somerbhanson September 11, 2013 at 4:33 pm #

      Yay! Please let me know if and when you do! I would love to feature your beautiful photos on my blog! πŸ™‚

  2. Travelling Book Junkie September 11, 2013 at 8:28 pm #

    What a great idea – now thinking how I could utilise this myself. My sister is having a baby shower shortly so maybe I could suggest that she throws me a book shower at some point in reciprocation . πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

