Disney is for grown ups, too

10 Sep

What is the one ride at Disneyland or California Adventure you absolutely have to ride? It’s the first ride you think about when planning your Disney vacation. Once you enter the park it’s the first ride you race to and it’s the last ride before you leave. And we won’t even talk about the devastation we would feel if that ride was closed.

For this girl that ride is Toy Story Midway Mania. Two years ago my husband and I were nearing the end of Day 2 of our anniversary trip in the Anaheim parks. We were squeezing in every last ride we could before we headed back home and along California Adventure’s Paradise Pier, we noticed a ride we hadn’t noticed before.

2499381553_ae7babd520_oWith an interactive Mr. Potato Head outside we waited in the line of our final ride of the trip. My husband and I put on the 3-D glasses and sat in the two-seater cart. In front of us were our individual toy cannons. The ride spun us through an interactive game in which we had to fire our cannons at targets in different classic carnival midway games.

Always game for a little competition my husband and I went out firing aiming for the highest score. But alas my erratic aim during the excitement of the game led to the husband finishing victorious.

Two years later as we planned our California vacation there were two must do things on my list upon entering the park: 1, ride Radiator Springs (check!) and 2, Toy Story Midway Mania (check, check, check and check!)!

Yes, I made my husband ride Toy Story four times (even waiting up to 45 minutes once), because each time we played I continued to lose! I just kept thinking one more time! I know I can beat him!

But it wasn’t meant to be. By the fourth time our right arms were exhausted from firing our virtual cannons off in rapid succession. Again, I finished the runner-up.

During that trip I learned there is one game my husband can’t beat me at: Toy Story’s Astro Blasters. I made him “drive” the spinning cart so I could focus on my targets and maybe that gave me an advantage? So be it. I am a two-time Astro Blasters champion!

So what’s your go-to ride/game? Indiana Jones? California Screamin’? Splash Mountain?

2 Responses to “Disney is for grown ups, too”

  1. meghancaprez September 11, 2013 at 2:15 am #

    I’ve never been to Disneyland, but my go-to ride at Walt Disney World is definitely Haunted Mansion. On my first trip to Disney, my sister screamed and cried while we waited in line because she was scared to go on the ride. We finally got her into a doom buggy and through the ride. When we got off, she was laughing and running toward the queue again, saying, “Let’s do it again!” Ever since then, it’s been my favorite.

    • somerbhanson September 11, 2013 at 4:33 pm #

      Haha! Thank you for sharing! The Haunted Mansion is definitely something we always do at least once!

Leave a Reply

