What I’m Reading Wednesday

30 Oct

15810873

Apparently I can’t go longer than a month without blogging about the Fitzgeralds.

Last month I posted about “Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald,” and while I was reading it I learned of another recent release about the famous couple.

Earlier this year three authors released novels about Scott and Zelda, including Erika Robuck. The historical fiction author released “Call Me Zelda” in May. While doing research for her novel “Hemingway’s Girl,” Robuck was inspired to write about Zelda.

Robuck’s style features invented characters whose lives intersect with historical subjects. In “Call Me Zelda,” Anna is a fictional psychiatric nurse who befriends Zelda when she is institutionalized. The line of patient and friend becomes a gray area when Anna becomes consumed in the Fitzgerald’s lives.

The reader is given an intimate look at mental illness in Zelda’s character and is also submerged into a dramatic and tragic past with Anna’s character.

I’m taking a break from the Fitzgeralds for at least a month, and when I pick up another jazz age book I hope it’s Zelda’s own “Save Me The Waltz.” I have yet to read her book and after reading Robuck’s latest, it really piqued my interest.

Robuck is set to release “Fallen Beauty” in March. The historical fiction novel takes place in upstate New York in 1928 (yay!) and features poet Edna St. Vincent Millay. Robuck writes and reviews historical on her blog, Muse.

What are you reading this week?

2 Responses to “What I’m Reading Wednesday”

  1. Claire 'Word by Word' October 31, 2013 at 12:23 pm #

    How do you find it compared to A Novel of Zelda?

    • somerbhanson October 31, 2013 at 10:40 pm #

      I liked it just as much as “Z!” They’re so different because they’re written during different time frames and different perspectives. “Call Me Zelda” was the first book I’ve read from Robuck, and now I’m curious to read her other historical fiction work!

Leave a Reply

