A Marriage in Middlebury Kindle Giveaway

20 Nov

Enter Today | 11/18 – 12/12!
anita higman a marriage in middleburyThanks to Litfuse Publicity Group, I received an advanced copy of Anita Higman’s latest, “A Marriage in Middlebury,” released Nov. 5. Click the image to the left to enter the “Tea for Two” giveaway by Dec. 12!

Everyone has a plan for their lives, but often times a decision we make, or a decision made for us sets us on a new path. Higman’s story of forgiveness in “A Marriage in Middlebury,” follows a young couple torn apart from a forced decision, and how their lives move forward on separate paths, only to reconnect many years later.

“Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths straight,” — Proverbs 3:5-6

Charlotte Rose Hill is a lovable character whom everyone appreciates, but she quietly harbors offenses and heartbreak with a smile on her face. When her first love, Sam Wilder, reappears in her life with his fiance, Charlotte learns valuable lessons in forgiveness and reconciliation. The other colorful characters of the small-town setting add to the theme of second chances.

I asked Ms. Higman a few questions about the inspiration and setting of her latest novel:

Q and A with author Anita Higman

Q: What was the inspiration behind this story?

A: The idea for the heroine and the story, “A Marriage in Middlebury,” came from my absolute love of tearooms in Texas. More than a decade ago I met a women named Linda Becker who opened a tearoom in the Houston burbs called Tea for Two. Her eatery and gift shop did so well she opened a second shop. Throughout the years I’ve enjoyed her wonderful tearoom fare as well as the quaint ambiance. Linda’s tearoom isn’t just a cafe — it’s a gathering place for friends, a place to eat home-cooked food and a place so cozy you don’t want to leave. As a writer I thought it might be fun to create a heroine who owns a tearoom similar to Linda’s.

Q: You write of teas, flowers, and antiques (among other things), are these some of your favorite things?

A: Yes, absolutely. I love tea, because it’s such a friendly beverage. I have loved flowers my whole life and had a big garden when I was growing up on our farm in Oklahoma. My favorite flowers are irises, lilacs, and bridal wreath. It’s funny, but the older I get, the more I love antiques. I wonder if there is a correlation there…

Q: What is your favorite movie to watch and what tea would you drink with it?

A: I love the latest version of “Jane Eyre.” Amazing film. I’d choose Earl Grey to go with this movie, but then I love Earl Grey with everything.

Q: I love the small town setting. Is it based off a place you’ve lived or visited?

A: Middlebury, Texas is a fictitious town, and yet the area where it is located is all correct. I grew up on a farm near a small town, and so I’m very familiar with the inner workings of small-town life. Fascinating stuff.

2 Responses to “A Marriage in Middlebury Kindle Giveaway”

  1. Tina November 21, 2013 at 1:30 pm #

    Although I don’t much about the author yet, your interview with her has me curious about the novel. Also, I love tea, tearooms, and southern food (felt a connection).:)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Blog Tour: Summer’s List | A Writer's Purpose - June 14, 2015

    […] my attention was the book’s author, who stopped by A Writer’s Purpose when her novel A Marriage in Middlebury was released in November […]

Leave a Reply

