What I’m Reading Wednesday

19 Feb
GirlsLikeUs

Girls Like Us.

The Justice Conference is almost here! And while we won’t be in Los Angeles to see it in person, we are traveling to a semi-local simulcast site for the two-day conference.

I had the good fortune to travel to Portland in 2012 and then Philadelphia in 2013 for The Justice Conference. And a thank you goes out to my friend Blaire who introduced me to the conference!

In 2012 one of the conference speakers was Rachel Lloyd, author of “Girls Like Us: Fighting for a World Where Girls Are Not For Sale.” Lloyd established GEMS: Girls Educational and Mentoring Services, to support girls and young women victimized by the commercial sex industry. GEMS is not a rescue organization, but rather an empowerment organization.

At the conference Lloyd shared her own personal testimony and her journey to stand up GEMS. I borrowed Lloyd’s book from Blaire as pre- 2014 conference reading to read more into Lloyd’s story and fight for justice.

As I read “Girls Like Us” I could hear Lloyd’s British accent and powerful deliverance while speaking of a subject she felt called to stand up to. I found my 2012 notebook from The Justice Conference to read the takeaways from Lloyd. They include:

“Be selfless.”

“There are times in our life when we have to step out.”

“I am not defined by the pain I went through. I am defined by the woman I am, the people I love.”

“What’s your role right now? What am I doing in the next three years to make a change?”

“Our role is to plant seeds, treat people with love and respect and dignity.”

You can watch Lloyd’s video from the conference, as well other videos from pastors, advocates and educators on The Justice Conference website.

16430_10200624432351286_617698507_n

The Justice Conference 2013.

Leave a Reply

