Bye, bye 2014 goal

5 Mar

42e1229bdf3ad009b39d56f3236f9ac8March 5 is the day my 2014 goal died.

If you missed my New Year’s post, my goal for this year was to avoid the library. I wanted to stop checking out books so I would ignore the unread books on my bookshelf.

Three months in I’ve read five books from my shelf and two on loan from a friend. I’m in the middle of a 500-pager that previously collected dust on my bookshelf for so long I can’t remember how I came to own it.

The temptation proved too great today. While out covering an assignment, which was conveniently located next door to the library, I poked my head in with the idea I’d check out a movie. I even picked up books from the “New Arrivals” shelf only to put them back with the image of my home collection in my mind.

But then it happened. As I was exiting the library the display case featuring “Women’s History Month” biographies caught my eye. From female aviators to the women’s liberation movement, I looked at each book behind the glass case. I was almost to the end of the display when “The Astronaut Wives Club” by Lily Koppel caught my eye.

It’s a book I’ve wanted to read since it came out last June. My mom fed the fire of my interest when she shared with me news articles of how the book about spouses of America’s Mercury Seven astronauts on historic missions came to be.

I could feel the pull.

I re-entered the library and with no one at the check out counter I built up the courage to ask if the display books were available for check out or if I’d have to wait until April.

My fate was decided with a “yes.”

My 2014 goal was laid to rest, but I feel no regret. With this month being Women’s History Month I have the perfect opportunity to learn of the rich history of the women who came before me. And for them and the opportunity, I am grateful.

3 Responses to “Bye, bye 2014 goal”

  1. Marlisa March 5, 2014 at 7:01 pm #

    You lasted longer than I could have!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What I’m Reading Wednesday | A Writer's Purpose - March 12, 2014

    […] 2014 and I’ve already started on this week’s book, which if you read last week’s post, ended my New Year’s goal of […]

Leave a Reply

