What I’m Reading Wednesday

12 Mar
2807199

American Wife. 2008

My latest read took longer than my average week to finish. Not because it was difficult to get through, but because 555 pages is quite a commitment.

“American Wife” by Curtis Sittenfeld has sat on my bookshelf for so long I can’t even remember how I came to own it. The book was published in 2008 and was chosen as one of the Ten Best Books of 2008 by Time, People and Entertainment Weekly.

When I re-read the book description on the jacket cover I was reminded of why I wanted it for my personal collection. Because of my obsession with the Kennedy family I initially found “American Wife” interesting because it’s a first person story of an American First Lady.

While the book is a work of fiction, it is loosely based on First Lady Laura Bush. The main character, Alice Blackwell, experiences life events very similar to Mrs. Bush, including being involved in a car accident as a teenager that killed a classmate, becoming a librarian, and her husband’s political career.

Sittenfeld’s amazing imagination pieced together a “tell-all” story from beginning to end, not skipping an era or address. This novel required all 555 pages because of the author’s incredible attention to detail, and I believe a single word wasn’t wasted.

“American Wife” marks the seventh book read for 2014 and I’ve already started on this week’s book, which if you read last week’s post, ended my New Year’s goal of 2014.

What are you reading this week?

Leave a Reply

