What I’m Reading Wednesday

22 May

The Fault in Our Stars.

I will spend the next few weeks catching up on my latest reads. If you’ve been tracking my 2014 goal, the last three books I’ve read haven’t come from my bookshelf, but instead were 1, loaned; 2, from the library (book club!) and 3, gifted.

In preparation for this summer’s book to movie releases and because all the cool kids are doing it, I borrowed The Fault in Our Stars by John Green. Many girls in my church had read this one and if I knew anything about it before reading it, is that it was sure to make me cry.

Well, it did.

Anything about young people (or any aged people for that matter) battling cancer can take an emotional toll on the reader. Especially when a young couple falls in love, both of which have the odds stacked against them. Reminds me of one of the many sad scenes from My Sister’s Keeper

The Fault in Our Stars was published in 2012 and the young adult novel pulls at the heart strings of all ages. I’m really impressed with how Green wrote from a teenage girl’s perspective. I can’t imagine that was an easy feat to accomplish (coming from a former teenage girl).

Because I must read a book before I see its movie (which reminds me, I really need hurry up and read Catching Fire already), I wanted to read The Fault in Our Stars before its release date (June 6). I recently saw the trailer and already became weepy. From the trailer it looks like it sticks to much of the book, and if that’s the case, I’ll be sure to pack the Kleenex.

How about you? Do you prefer to read the book before watching the movie? Any upcoming books to big screen releases your’re excited about?

 

Leave a Reply

