Love Lost and Found at Grand Central

19 Jul

51lcGTY0CWL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

I believe it was in January when I heard about Grand Central, an anthology of novellas of postwar love, reunion and heartache all centered around the iconic Grand Central Station in New York. I instantly pre-ordered the novel because the rock star lineup of authors includes some of my favorite historical fiction writers.

Sarah Jio. If you’ve been following this blog you know how much I talk about her and how I read anything she writes in less than two days because I can’t put it down.

Melanie Benjamin. Author of The Aviator’s Wife. I reviewed her bestseller last year when it was released and because of her I have a fascination with Anne Lindbergh.

Erika Robuck. One of my more recent favorites. The author of Hemingway’s Girl and Call me Zelda has such a colorful imagination in how she takes non-fiction people and places and crafts a magical story.

Karen White. I was introduced to Karen’s works when I reviewed The Time Between last year.

And this isn’t everyone included in Grand Central. Going into this book I thought it would be more about love found at USO dances with long letter correspondence. While there is some of that, this collection also includes stories of concentration camp survivors, a woman with ties to the Nazi Lebensborn Program and immigrants searching for a new beginning in a victorious America.

grand-central-1940-660

Corbis Images

USA Today ran a great story recently about the authors and the inspirations behind their stories here.

When the book launched June 28, the authors glammed up 1940s style and celebrated at Grand Central. How I wish I could have been a part of that!

In an effort to read more of what I already own but have yet to read on my bookshelf, I have avoided purchasing books. I broke my 2014 New Year’s goal with this purchase, because I knew it would not disappoint.

If you’re looking for your latest beach read, or a book for a rainy weekend indoors, Grand Central will take you away to an era where there were scars but there was hope.

2 Responses to “Love Lost and Found at Grand Central”

  1. Thom Hickey July 19, 2014 at 6:57 pm #

    Thanks Somer. Pleased to have found your blog. I’ll explore further. Regards from Thom at the immortal jukebox (drop a nickel!).

  2. Allison Chaney July 23, 2014 at 10:05 pm #

    This looks amazing.

Leave a Reply

