What I’m Reading Wednesday

20 Aug

This post will most definitely contain spoiler alerts because I want to try to get to the bottom of Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell.

So for those71LkLmxqgjL who have yet to read this Young Adult New York Times Bestseller, please stop reading this and pick up the book!

This novel was the latest selection among the YA-loving gals in my book club. Based on the number of holds ahead of me at the public library, I knew going into it there was something special about this one.

For starters, it’s set in the ’80s, and as a product of that era I was instantly a fan.

Then there’s the author, who not only has a unique name, but also a unique writing style.

Eleanor & Park, the teenage dramatic tale of two misfits who champion for their love despite high school bullies and a dangerous home life for Eleanor. Reading through the two characters’ perspectives I had a ball of anxiety growing larger by each page waiting for the ticking time bomb to explode with an emotional climax that would leave me stunned and unable to forgive Rainbow.

But the emotional climax turned out to not be as severe as I thought (anyone else think something worse was on the horizon??).

And all 325 pages lead up to the very last sentence.

Just three words long.

I read the last sentence and was so happy because in my hopeful mind I had no doubt Eleanor had written I love you for the first time to Park. No doubt. After Park said it to her so many times, always with no I love you too response.

And then I talked with my fellow book clubber Marlisa (who actually chose this book), who said, “But you don’t know.”

Boom.

My Eleanor and Park 1986 universe was shifted and I don’t know what to believe anymore!

So I’m asking the masses. What do you think Eleanor’s postcard to Park said?

I’m tempted to live out the Fault in our Stars and write to Rainbow pleading her to share what those words are. But then I remember I’m 30 years old and that’s creepy.

I read in a Goodreads interview that Rainbow said the words were “happy and hopeful,” so I’m holding out hope Eleanor and Park fight against everything and end up together in the very end.

Eleanor & Park is the last YA novel I’ll read for a while. I’ve already surpassed my annual quota these last few months.

So Eleanor & Park fans, what do you think the postcard said?

One Response to “What I’m Reading Wednesday”

  1. Marlisa August 20, 2014 at 4:38 am #

    I’m famous again!

    Blaire pointed out how Eleanor kept wanting to say “Park, just stop” throughout the novel and how it may be that!

Leave a Reply

