What I’m Reading Wednesday

10 Jun

MayReads

Hello fellow book lovers! Did you miss me?

This past month marked my first go at blogging monthly, rather than trying to (unsuccessfully) blog what I’m reading weekly. The month of May was spent in the 1930s-1940s, in the Pacific during WWII, in Paris at the climax of the Nazi occupation, in the Scottish Highlands hunting the Loch Ness monster, and in New Jersey at Palisades Amusement Park.

Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand

The story of Louis Zamperini is almost unbelievable. An Olympian athlete is shot down during WWII, manages to survive 47 days at sea and endures unimaginable treatment as a Japanese POW. But as the title states, Zamperini’s spirt was unbroken. He survived it all and when Billy Graham’s crusade crossed his path, he was saved from it all.

I wanted to read this before watching the movie, and I’m so glad I did. While Hollywood paid a great deal of attention to Louis’ story, of course there were gaps. My husband would ask me throughout, Did that really happen? And sadly, every time the answer was yes.

The Lavender Garden by Lucinda Riley

Last Christmas my sister-in-law (hi Tifani!) gave me this book. We have a similar literary tastes, and she had enjoyed this one and thought I would, too. It follows the formula that I most enjoy about historical fiction: present day with flashbacks.

This story is a work of fiction set against a historical background. I enjoy WWII stories, and especially of the bright women who bravely served doing more than rolling Red Cross bandages. There’s the Resistance, the Nazis and a family mystery nearly 50 years later.

At the Water’s Edge by Sara Gruen

I was excited to see the author of Water for Elephants release her latest work! During the height of the second world war, a trio of high society friends travel the globe in search of the Loch Ness monster. Far away from home and close to war, they learn things aren’t always as they seem. Discoveries are made as the trio find themselves in their own personal war.

Palisades Park by Alan Brennert

There is one book that sits on my bookshelf that I’m quick to recommend when asked for a book recommendation. Have you read Moloka’i? It’s good. I promise.

I was returning a book at the library when a vintage cover of a 1930’s high diver caught my eye. I picked it up and saw it’s from the same author of Moloka’i and without even thinking I took it home with me.

This story spans decades and generations, all centered around Palisades Amusement Park in New Jersey. The story takes many angles, but stays close to the nucleus of one family; a family full of dreamers.

I’ve already jumped into Book 1 for June. But tell me, what should I be reading this summer?

Leave a Reply

