Have Book, Will Travel (sort of)

5 Jul
11215070_10206401174846238_4557846973252162483_n

Standing next to a replica of the Husky Clipper.

I had a recent conversation with a fellow booklover, and ever since I have been thinking and re–thinking about how she described why she loves to read.

You can go anywhere without having to travel.

I favor the historical fiction genre because I love to learn about historical people and places through the author’s imagination. I can experience my favorite decades (1920s-50s) and favorite places (Europe and Asia) through interpretations, without having physically been there.

To better experience what I read, I’m stepping up my game. With every book I finish (non-fiction and fiction), I will take something from the story and create an experience, visit a new place, try something new, that I was introduced to in the story.

IMG_1238

The UW Conibear Shellhouse.

For example, after reading The Boys in the Boat by Daniel James Brown, my husband and I visited the UW Conibear Shellhouse, to physically place what I loved reading about. I was able to picture the scene set in the 1930s.

Often times stories I read take place further out than driving distance. I recently finished Maine by J. Courtney Sullivan and will follow up with a lobster roll to experience New England in the Pacific Northwest.

Each story will introduce me to an experience that will get my nose out of the book and into our world in a more tangible way. A subject featured on the Humans of New York Facebook page said, If you force yourself to go outside, something wonderful always happens.

It’s time to go outside and see what happens.

2 Responses to “Have Book, Will Travel (sort of)”

  1. Kim Nordby July 6, 2015 at 3:32 am #

    I know you are supposed to be telling us what to read, but I think you might enjoy “My Year with Eleanor: A Memoir” by Noelle Hancock. I wouldn’t say it is historical fiction, but it does tie in with what you are trying to do. Great website, btw. I used to work with your dad and see now that all of the coloring you did at the PCH office has really paid off.

    • somerbhanson July 6, 2015 at 3:38 am #

      I certainly welcome recommendations! I will add this to my to-read list. Thank you for suggesting! I ended up pursuing journalism/communications so the PCH definitely left an impression on me.

Leave a Reply

